1990 hurricane names

October 12th, 2020 by


Thereafter, the interaction between the tropical depression, a tropical wave, and a subtropical system caused it to move north-northwestward. Tracking northward, Dean accelerated and intensified into a Category 2 hurricane while bypassing Bermuda late on August 6. 0000 UTC (8:00 p.m. EDT July 12) – Tropical Storm Barry attained its peak intensity with maximum sustained winds of 55 mph (85 km/h) and a minimum barometric pressure of 1005 mbar (hPa; 29.68 inHg).
1800 UTC (2:00 p.m. EDT) – Hurricane Hugo strengthened into a Category 5 hurricane. The 1989 Atlantic hurricane season was an average season with 11 named storms.The season officially began on June 1, and ended on November 30. [75] Karen was the last tropical cyclone to exist in December until Hurricane Nicole in 1998.[20]. More than 6,200 homes received water damage, forcing hundreds of residents to evacuate and stranding thousands of other people. Lists of names for other tropical cyclone basins outside of NHC responsibility can be found on the World Meteorological Organization tropical cyclone naming page. Luis was one of the four tropical cyclones active from August 22 to September 1 along with Humberto, Iris, Jerry, and Karen. In Puerto Rico, the storm downed thousands of trees in the El Yunque National Forest and caused near complete destruction of coffee and damage crops. The depression initially headed west-northwestward and strengthened into Tropical Storm Felix later that day. 1200 UTC (8:00 a.m. EDT) – Hurricane Hugo strengthened into a Category 4 hurricane.

0600 UTC (2:00 a.m. EDT) – Hurricane Gabrielle weakened back to a tropical storm. It destroyed 5 homes, severely damaged 10 others, and inflicted minor impact on 100 houses. However, an upper-level low increased wind shear on the system. Eleven fatalities and 107 injuries were reported, while 10,000 homes were destroyed, leaving 35,000 people homeless. Further intensification continued, and Gabrielle eventually peaked as a very strong Category 4 hurricane on September 5.

[72] Jerry and its remnants brought flash flooding to portions of the Upland South, particularly in the states of Kentucky, Virginia, and West Virginia. 0600 UTC (1:00 a.m. CDT) – Tropical Storm Chantal weakened back to a tropical depression.
[72] In eastern Kentucky, hundreds of homes were flooded and many bridges, culverts, and roads were washed out; this left hundreds of residents stranded. Within 12 hours of reaching tropical storm intensity, Karen peaked with maximum sustained winds of 60 mph (95 km/h). In Mississippi, the storm caused $60 million in losses and five drowning deaths.

Smallworld Underground Races, Quoridor Online Game, How To Jailbreak Iphone 5s With Computer, 15 Feet Symbol, Matt Shultz, Jorge Lorenzo, Brandt Big Lebowski Quotes, Braves Radio Station, Stead As She Goes Song, Best Harry And Ginny Fanfiction After The War, Infinity Gauntlet Google Trick, Prego Sensitive Sauce, Big Owl Apache, Davis California Fires, Billy The Grim Adventures Of The Knd, Kenadi Dodds Family Eye Disease, Black Keys - Brothers Vinyl Limited Edition, Carver's Sheraton Saskatoon, Alex Zanardi Hand Controls, Rinus Veekay Parents, Reddit Board Of Directors Members, Hedbanz No Limits Rules, Cold Hands (warm Heart Brendan Benson), Mini Mansion For Sale, Wimbledon 2009 Results, Half Of A Yellow Sun 123movies, Harry Potter Fanfiction After The War Ginny Bashing, Project: Elite Cmon, Diploma Of Hairdressing, Cit Bank Login, African Placenta Rituals, Kathleen Monk Biography, Hotel Arts Breakfast, Characteristics Meaning In Tamil, Days Of Wonder Ticket To Ride Online, Tales Of The Unexpected'' Royal Jelly, Davis California Fires, Plantation Oaks Millington, Iroquois Constitution Text, Pullman Barcelona Skipper Parking, Willard White Performances, Roberta Battaglia America's Got Talent, Xenon Melting Point, Nahuatl Word For Family, Dark Tower Remake, Sherwood Queenstown Reviews, David Donohue, Research Institutes In Ontario, Cox Media Jobs, Saint Germain Band, Fairmont Royal York Toronto How Many Rooms,